Product Review: Domestic Juicers

Sunbeam Juicer JE4800

Price:$79 retail

My Rating:   3 / 5

My Recommendation:Ideal for Singles and Couples

I have spent a fair bit of time using a Sunbeam domestic juicer while I was staying in New Zealand. It is the bottom of the range in the sunbeam which is illustrated in both price ($79) and function ability. It is ideal for making individual juices each day. It has the ability to juice over a 1kg of fruit but is limited by the height of the juice dispenser which only allows for a glass or measuring jug of approximately 250ml. A liter of juice it can be quite time consuming as you have to make a glass, put it into a larger jug, make another etc.

The feeding tube is quite small which means that you will have to cut apples and wider fruits into half or quarters depending on their size. This was also a limitation that quickly added more time to my daily ‘juicing’ routine. The non slip feet stop it from jumping across the bench whist in use, which is a nice bonus.

The parts all pull apart quite simply, which makes cleaning and pack up nice and easy.

Features

  • Fruit and vegetable juice extractor
  • Juice over 1kg of fruit and vegetables
  • Stainless steel blades and mesh filter
  • Continuous flow pulp container
  • Safety locking arms
  • Cord wrap
  • Non-slip feet

Link: http://www.appliancesonline.com.au/sunbeam-juicer-je4800/

Homemaker HY5028

Price: $59 retail

My Rating:  4 / 5

My Recommendation: Families, Groups & Singles

I recently went a purchased for Homemaker from KMart for my mother. So far I have used it daily, juiced every sort of vegetable and fruit and had fantastic success!

Its large feed tube means that I don’t have to pre-cut ingredients, it comes with an extra-large jug so I can juice a liter at a time and all of the parts are dish washer safe. Although manual cleaning is as simple as a rinse and the parts pull apart with ease.

It has two speed selections, I do recommend using the highest speed for carrots, otherwise it works a treat on the lowest setting. The juice dispenser has a locking mechanism so that you can stop the juice mid flow or catch any residual drips after use. It doesn’t have non slip feet so I would also suggest having a wet cloth or rubber slip mat underneath.

I was pleasantly surprised by the price and function ability. It got a tick from me in every box!

Features

  • Fruit and vegetable extractor
  • Juices over 1 kg of ingredients
  • Stainless steel housing, blades and mesh filter
  • Extra large container for receiving fresh juice
  • 75mm whole food feed tube
  • 750W motor.

Link: www.kmart.co.nz/catalogue/SourceLoader.ashx?CatalogueID=310

Hamilton Beach 67650 Big Mouth Pro Juice Extractor

Price: $59 – $79 retail

My Rating:  5 / 5

My Recommendation: Juice Connoisseur’s, Families and Entertainers

The next step up from HY5028. I haven’t personally owned one, but I have tried a friends. The results were impressive. It is a zooped up, high powered vegetable eating machine! Much like its smaller brother the HY5028, it is dishwasher friendly, has stainless steel parts and extra-large jug. The radical difference is the much larger horse power and feeding tube. This baby could eat two decent sized apples at a time! The large feeding tube makes juicing even faster and the unit itself is considerably larger than other domestic juice appliances. Unfortunately this product wasn’t on the market when I purchased a juicer for my mum, otherwise it would have topped my shopping list. It is both affordable and functional sits comfortably within the price range of the above two products and comes highly recommended!

Features:

  • Fits whole foods – 3 inch wide feeder tube
  • Easy to assemble and store
  • Powerful 800 Watt motor
  • Dishwasher safe parts
  • Includes recipes, tips and juicing cup
  • cleaning brush and collection beaker included with unit
  • Extra-large pulp bin lets you juice longer – use pulp in recipes or for composting

Link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FHQJ6C?ie=UTF8&tag=juicefiend-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B000FHQJ6C

Leave a comment